Installing Coop Windows

PupsNHens

Songster
Sep 19, 2017
N. Texas
First, a disclaimer :) I'm a first-time coop builder and have very little experience building anything like a coop.

I'm building a 6x10 coop based on plans I purchased. I'm learning a lot from this build, including that novice-friendly doesn't always mean what you hope it means. I'm following along the plans and I'm at the install the windows part. And it basically says just that - install the windows. Now, I didn't know there were so many options with windows. I needed 24"x24" windows and picked up 3 vinyl utility windows at Lowes. From my extensive googling, I can tell you that they have a nailing fin and an integrated J-channel (it says that on the online description, but now I actually know what that means ;)).

I'm trying to figure out the best way to install them since the nailing fin and J-channel causes the window to stick out from the side of the coop wall further than I expected. The J-channel is wider than a 1x4, but narrower than a 2x4. I found "brick molding" that might work if I file it down a little where it meets the corner of the window due to a seam that sticks out a bit there.

Does anyone have experience installing these type of windows on a coop where the siding is already up? What's the best way to be sure I don't have any water leakage? I do already have window flashing tape to use for the install and watched a couple of videos on how to use it. Does the fact that the window sticks out away from the coop wall change anything when installing it?

I hope that's clear. I plan to install windows this weekend, and I'm trying to plan it out.

Thanks!

Uninstall your siding since that should have been the last thing to be put on.
Install your window onto your plywood sheeting. Then use a brickmold if you want. You can just install the j channel onto edge and then proceed to put up the siding. You only need to remove the siding as far down as the bottom of the window height.