is nighttime the only time to really worry about?

karmical

Crowing
16 Years
Aug 3, 2007
Honeoye Falls, NY
I'm new to raising chickens and was wondering about predators (weasels and racoons and fox and such)....Do they mostly strike at night?

Also....My enclosure is 6 feet high topped with bird netting to keep flying predators out. Am I kidding myself that they'll land on it and fly away (if they manage to untangle themselves), or do hawks rip through that stuff (it's plastic)?

My girls are just 7 weeks old, and love being out in their enclosure. I'd like to let them be out there when I'm at work all day (I do close them in the coop at night), but I'm just a nervous wreck worrying there's some small opening I missed that a hungry critter might get through....

Are they "safe" out there during the day? (Enclosure walls are hardware cloth from 6 inches below ground to 3 feet about ground....then 1 1/2" chicken wire up the next 3' up to the top.)

Thoughts? Advice? Anti-worry medications you can recommend?
wink.png

Well you sound like youve secured your coop pretty well!!!
big_smile.png
I must say though, even though it is a little odd, predators do strike in the day. I had a fox problem last year, foxes in my yard at 3 in the afternoon. You will see by other posts that coons have also come out in the day time. Once again though, its not normal, but its not impossible. I really wouldnt worry though because your coop sounds like Id have a hard time getting in!!

wow.nice sounding guarded coop you have ..... I have lost most of mine during the day......sorry to say........to coyotes,cats,and hawks........ always a threat no matter what time day or night............just hope for the best.do what you can.... and love them meanwhile.

Thanks to you both for the reassurance that it DOES at least sound like I've made it pretty secure for them
smile.png