it finally happened to me

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by janjan1, Jul 7, 2010.

1. janjan1

janjan1 Songster

Feb 26, 2008
    Armuchee, GA
    After reading everyone's postings about losing their chickens, I couldn't really relate. Well now I can. Lost one of my first hens, naturally one of my favorites. It was a huge EE. I found the feathers this morning but nothing else. But while looking around I found the remains of her body. Her head was gone and her breast was ripped open, eaten on one side and all internal organs were missing also. I assume it was a coyote. Anyone else have this type of killing happen?
    Thanks
    Jan

2. rcentner

rcentner Songster

Sep 6, 2009
    Le Roy, NY
    [​IMG] I am sorry you had to join the club. I joined the club this past spring. Keep the rest under tight watch, whatever it was will be back for more.

3. BigSkyChickens

BigSkyChickens Free Bird

Apr 3, 2009
    Pleasant Hill, CA
    Sorry you lost a chicken.

I'm no expert, but I've heard racoons tend to eat the head and leave the body. [​IMG]

I didn't sleep well at all last night, because I saw a big ol' racoon hanging around as I was locking up my 2 coops of chickens. I didn't even see it at first - the little girls alerted me to it's presence with their unusual twittering (Big girls reacted by being completely quiet and still).

I tried to scare it away by smacking the shovel on the ground and throwing rocks at it, but it was very slow to wander off.

4. tomcatbubba

tomcatbubba Chirping

Jun 16, 2010
    If it was slow to wander off it may have been sick. You probably should have killed it.

5. MysticScorpio82

MysticScorpio82 Songster

May 2, 2009
    Maine, USA
    [​IMG] I am so sorry for your loss! [​IMG] I don't think coyote, because it would have eaten nearly all of it. I would lean more towards a raccoon. Raccoons can be vicious; last year one killed a BYC member's cat and disemboweled it. [​IMG]