Its normal for the hen to have different "aged" eggs right? And when is the best time to move her

Bailee8jane

Hatching
Aug 30, 2022
This is my first time ever owning chickens, I didn't expect a broody hen until spring not to mention her to be successful.
My girl has had a nest for almost 3 weeks and her eggs are in different stages of development. They appear to range from day 9 to day 19, this is normal right? Especially for a new mom?
I did sort out the eggs and gave her back the eggs that had more devolved embryos (days 15-19) the less developed eggs (days 9-14) I gave to another broody hen but she left them.
Is my broody likely to wait for the other eggs to catch up or should I plan on having 4 successful hatches?
I'm fine with either or, I just want to be prepared with an explanation for my son if they don't all make it.

And my next question, broody hen is not in a safe area and she hasn't been this entire time. This was allowed on purpose because she was wondering the neighborhood looking for a nesting spot.
I finally have my new chicken run in and will be putting it up this weekend 🤞🏻 she'll have her own section at the back of the run with a small shelter. Do I move her before the eggs hatch or try to move her and the chicks after? This is probably my biggest concern involving her and the babies. Does it not matter as long as I move her at night?
I'm worried they'll hatch before this weekend.

When the eggs start to hatch the chicks can live off of the absorbed yolk for about three days. After that the hen needs to take them off the nest to get food and water. Any eggs not hatched at that time will be abandoned.

Moving a broody hen is risky because she may be bonded to the nesting site and might abandon the eggs, or cease to be broody, if moved. Moving her after at least one chick has hatched should be okay because she will be bonded to the chick rather than the nesting spot and will stay wherever the chick is.