Juvenile losing major flight feathers

sqatkins

Songster
Aug 24, 2019
Missoula, Montana
I just acquired 5 pullets of various youthful ages. The eldest is a Rhode Island Red just 5 months of age. My concern is that she seems to have lost her flight feathers in the week she has been here. They are scattered around the chicken run. It's too early for her to molt, correct? She is the largest and most mature bird among the group, the others being 4 months and 3 months of age.

I am a complete novice, so any helpful insights would be welcome. Most comments on molting seem to assume the birds are over a year in age, so don't seem to fit my situation.

Thanks.

It may just be a late-ish juvenile molt...they have 2 of these before 6 months of age.
The first adult molt happens around 18 months of age, give or take a couple months.
Look for new pin feathers coming in to confirm molting.

Oh, and..... Welcome to BYC! @sqatkins
Where in this world are you located?
Climate, and time of year, is almost always a factor.
Please add your general geographical location to your profile.
It's easy to do, (laptop version shown), then it's always there!
upload_2019-8-25_17-35-59.png

This is the rhodie losing feathers. Shown are some of the wing feathers lost so far. Not pictured are the smaller, downiest feathersshe has lost as well. She looks and acts healthy, but I have also noticed her poop is runny and orange, unlike the others in the coop who have a more defined, blackish deposit.

This is the rhodie losing feathers. Shown are some of the wing feathers lost so far. Not pictured are the smaller, downiest feathersshe has lost as well. She looks and acts healthy, but I have also noticed her poop is runny and orange, unlike the others in the coop who have a more defined, blackish deposit.

Not pretty, I know, but here is a photo of her poop. Should I be contacting the breeder? I haven’t even had her a week yet. View attachment 1889016
Likely it's juvenile molt.