Large Egg!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Colleen2016, Sep 18, 2016.

1. Colleen2016

Colleen2016 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 17, 2016
    Victoria BC Canada
    Hi there: I am a newbie from Victoria, BC Canada. Thank you for hosting this site and letting me join.

I waited many years to get chickens and finally took the plunge this year. I built my own coop and run, and stocked it with six 2 month old heritage hens. I thought it would be a chore looking after them, but I now know what dear little personalities they have, and that they make good pets also. They just started laying last month and their eggs are getting gradually larger. Yesterday, Colleen my ISO brown laid this enormous egg, not a bad feat considering she had laid the day before so it only took her a day to come up with this one I don't have a scale, so can't weigh it, but you can see from the photo, next to the normal size eggs. Phew!
    [​IMG]

2. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    [​IMG] so glad you have joined us.

My that's a whopper - bet it is a double yolker - [​IMG]

IMO their individual personalities is the most surprising and wonderful thing we discover when we get our own pet chickens.

Enjoy the forums.

3. Colleen2016

Colleen2016 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 17, 2016
    Victoria BC Canada
    Thank you! I have two hens in particular (the olive easter eggers) that won't leave me alone when I try and read a book in the yard. They hunker down on the arms of my chair, allowing me to pet them, and sometimes fall asleep there. Oggie, my Westie, has come to accept the hens and guards them, keeping them safe from raccoons. However, he gets jealous when I feed them and has to also have his share, no matter what it is.

I have been visiting this site for a while now, obtaining the information I needed from time to time. Its good to finally join.

[​IMG][​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  4. chicklady60

chicklady60 Just Hatched

Sep 10, 2016