laying egg when you are in the coop?

Dhkoenig

Songster
Sep 21, 2020
Bergen County New Jersey
Hi All - relative newbie here and THIS happened....I was inside the coop with the girls yesterday (I go in there and shovel out the poops every morning and they hang out with me while I do it) so yesterday my Nellie started doing the egg song while Fancy Pants was in the roost. Fancy pants was turning round and round slowly cozying into her roost and picking at little pieces of hay so it looked like she really was in the process of laying an egg. Then all the other girls joined in the egg song. I literally just sat there stone still - not sure if i was supposed to be in there when she is trying to lay an egg...but I was already in there, so I sad stock-still. Finally when things got quiet I slowly started to back out (sort of trying to tip toe out of there..) and after I was most of the way out, Fancy Pants got up and walked off (no egg!). What happened?

Hi All - relative newbie here and THIS happened....I was inside the coop with the girls yesterday (I go in there and shovel out the poops every morning and they hang out with me while I do it) so yesterday my Nellie started doing the egg song while Fancy Pants was in the roost. Fancy pants was turning round and round slowly cozying into her roost and picking at little pieces of hay so it looked like she really was in the process of laying an egg. Then all the other girls joined in the egg song. I literally just sat there stone still - not sure if i was supposed to be in there when she is trying to lay an egg...but I was already in there, so I sad stock-still. Finally when things got quiet I slowly started to back out (sort of trying to tip toe out of there..) and after I was most of the way out, Fancy Pants got up and walked off (no egg!). What happened?
By the way, later I went in and one of the buffs (fancy pants is a buff) laid a small egg. It wasn't a fairy egg but much smaller than their usual eggs