Lethargic chick

bcostley

In the Brooder
Apr 4, 2015
Northwest Oregon
I found one of our almost 3 week old chicks lethargic and with eyes closed yesterday morning. None of the other chicks in the brooder show any signs of trouble. We separated and after a day it has improved. Eyes are open and it is drinking. I don't know whether it is eating. It moves around tentatively but is shaky. It is pooping. I'm no expert in chick poop, but the poop seems normal, perhaps a but watery. I didn't find any external injury. Any idea what may be the problem?

MrsBachbach

Songster
6 Years
Mar 6, 2013
Arkansas
I found one of our almost 3 week old chicks lethargic and with eyes closed yesterday morning. None of the other chicks in the brooder show any signs of trouble. We separated and after a day it has improved. Eyes are open and it is drinking. I don't know whether it is eating. It moves around tentatively but is shaky. It is pooping. I'm no expert in chick poop, but the poop seems normal, perhaps a but watery. I didn't find any external injury. Any idea what may be the problem?

Are the chicks on ground that has had other chicks or chickens on it? Most chicks will get coccidiosis, a protozoan parasite and they do need to be treated for this or they will die. It can hit quickly and kill quickly. Lethargy is a symptom. I would get some Corid and treat all of them for this. May have to treat again as they grow older. Make sure the chicks can keep warm and make sure they are not too overcrowded and that there are enough feeders for all of them. It could be the chick just isn't eating enough or was chilled, but at the age they are, I would tread with Corid anyway. It won't hurt them.

bcostley

In the Brooder
Apr 4, 2015
Northwest Oregon
All the chicks are in a bin that hasn't been used with any chicks or chickens before, but is in a coop with other chickens. The chicks are on non-medicated feed now but were started on medicated.

MrsBachbach

Songster
6 Years
Mar 6, 2013
Arkansas