Lice and the DLM

Skittleinaustin

In the Brooder
8 Years
Jul 13, 2011
Austin
I got a good look at one of my girl's vent today and I believe I see lice (light brown, very small crawlers around her vent and bottom.). I'm going to use sevin in hose to treat but I've been thinking about how it started. They have access to a yard where they take lots of dust baths and spend most of their time. They roost at night in 2x4 planks. I'm using the DLM with shavings and DE in their coop. Is that my issue? Do I need to dig out the shavings more frequently than I am now (every 3 months is my current). How much DE do u recommend to use to prevent the issue?

this is my first time with this in my 17 months w a flock...what else do I need to think about?

Wild birds can drop off mites easily to the environment. If you bought adult birds or started birds off the farm, they could have come with it. Either way, now you're in for it to get it cleared up.

The Sevin on the hose won't eradicate them all, you'll notice them again in a couple of weeks. The hose application is ok around where they dust bath, but you need to dust for the birds with 5% powder or treat them a different way.

Removing the bedding will help, but it needs treated too. The coop, roosts, nooks crannies and cracks, nest boxes... everything needs treated. I dusted everything, so that if one crawled out of a crack, it walked right into the dust.

For birds, instead of dusting I applied drops of Ivermect pour on for cattle, for parasites and bugs. I think it was about 5 drops per each bird. Directly to the skin, one drop under each wing, 1 at the back of the neck, 2 below the vent.

It wouldn't be a bad idea to treat the whole coop again in 2 weeks just to be sure. Lot's of threads on the subject.

Wear a face mask and gloves!

Now it's become a yearly thing here. I think it's the wild birds digging around in the compost in close proximity to the chickens, since I've blocked them out from the coop and run.