Lockdown confusion! Help!

Trinitydraco

Songster
Jul 6, 2018
Vermont
So this is my first time hatching eggs and I thought I understood what lockdown meant but now I am really confused and it's kinda important because I am in lockdown! So I am seeing all these posts about internal pips and candling air sacks and it's all after day 18. Soooo I thought lockdown meant, no touchy the bator! I was told that if I open it even for a second the humidity will drop and I can kill my chicks! So if you can't open the incubator how do you candle an egg?! I am so confused! Am I supposed to be checking my eggs?! Am I neglecting them? How do I check them without hurting them?! Please let me know if I need to be doing something with my eggs! We are almost 24 hours into lockdown and if I am neglecting them I need to know! :oops:Thanks

No, you don't need to candle your eggs.

Lock down is GOOD ideal. Yes you can shrink wrap your chicks by opening the lid... or you may not. It's a personal risk some choose to take. I don't... unless someone has pipped and zipped and clearly needs help.

You will learn what you are comfortable with. Everyone has their their preferred way and reason.

Day 18-19, I make sure my humidity is right so I don't have to worry about it before day 22.

Some people remove chicks as they hatch cause they don't like the soccer being played in there... Not me. It is what it is.

Long story short... do what makes sense to you. There is NO right way. Some ways are riskier than others.

:fl:jumpy:jumpy