Lost almost my whole flock of 40 to racoons

Lovemybirdsnc

In the Brooder
Sep 14, 2019
I bought 40 chicks a couple years ago just lost the last one a couple days ago we've caught raccoons in with my chickens I'm down the eight chickens 2 big roosters which are game each has a hen with
20190914_105309.jpg
them and 4 small chickens who will be female on to look like males I'm pretty sure they are roosters I'm new at all this only had them chickens for a couple of years I used to have more eggs than I could eat I actually sold eggs I was having so many eggs now I'm down to do I can find one I gave her a few days maybe but raccoons have devastated my flock we've tried everything I've got them locked up pretty secure now but before this time did everything to keep the raccoons out and they can open doors just lost another big rooster three days ago anybody got any advice on how to keep these raccoons away and they're huge I guess because I got so much chicken no joke my husband came out and found three raccoons so any advice on how to keep these pests from killing my chickens??

Secure the coop and run. I use padlocks on the doors at night and carabiners during the day. Electric fence is your best option to keep out ground predators (assuming you don't have overhanging trees they could use as a bridge to avoid it). Raccoons are clever buggers. I read one story about raccoons figuring out how to climb up a pole and turn off the power to the electric fence! I keep my energizer inside the fence for this reason.

Replace the latches with the types you can lock using a carabiner.

Dukes DP coon traps work very well for me. I’ve caught four so far. I put them outside the coop near the weak points (where a coon will most likely enter). Many baits for the traps are recommended but I am have success with the fermented feed I give to my chickens, and the ants aren’t attracted to it like other baits. You will need to be prepared to kill the raccoons once caught.