Lump on newly hatched chicks bottom

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by CedarValley, Sep 30, 2013.

1. CedarValley

CedarValley New Egg

Sep 30, 2013
    This morning I had my first two little chicks hatch SO exciting!! I noticed a lump on the bottom of one right away and it look well kinda gross to be honest like it's something that should be inside. However since I'm new to chickens all together and I've never ever seen baby chicks before hatching our own I'm not sure if this is normal or not. My guess is not but any information would be greatly appreciated!! Thank you so much! (sorry the picture is upside down)

[​IMG]

2. chickencrazy999

chickencrazy999 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 6, 2013
    England, UK
    I think it might b due to the umbilical cord and when the chick was in the process of absorbing the yolk sack hope this helps

3. chippysmom327

chippysmom327 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 26, 2012
    Apollo, PA
    The very first chick I ever hatched had that happened. Being a newbie and with my inexperience, he died. I later learned that I could have in fact saved him. Use hemorrhoid cream on the little protrusion. It's coming out of his bum right? This should reduce swelling enough for him to poop and if you continue to use the hemorrhoid cream it should help a lot.

4. CedarValley

CedarValley New Egg

Sep 30, 2013
    Thank you, Yes Chippysmom I believe it is coming out of him bum!! I'm going to get hemorrhoid cream now so I'll let you know how it goes. Hoping he doesn't die. One of the other chicks died last night while it was trying to hatch and I was pretty upset about it.

Any idea how long it might take to heal or go away? Luckily we only have 2 chicks as of now so I'm hoping the other chick doesn't clumsily step on it and injure the poor chick.

Last edited: Sep 30, 2013
  5. chippysmom327

Nov 26, 2012
    Apollo, PA