Marek's. What now???

K7S10

In the Brooder
11 Years
Apr 25, 2008
I got a bunch of day-olds back in June. They should start laying in three weeks. Over the past couple of months I every now and then have lost a chicken. This week I lost 3. Arrrgh!

After doing much research, it turns out to be Marek's: paralysis of wing (in one chicken who is alive at the moment), swollen crop, lethargic, sudden death or lingering depending, greeny poos, lying on side unable to get up (one leg in front one stretched out behind), toes curled... all sypmtoms of Marek's and I reading it going yeah, that's what my chickens have done.

After investing all that time and $$$, I'd HATE to just get them all butchered. But if I just leave them, they'll all die won't they? Then I'll have no return for all the money invested. So would butchering be the best way of salvaging the most for all that time and money invested?

This is my first time raising chickens, and I'm so frustrated with it all. I keep the coop clean, dry, ventilated, not drafty. Everyone has plenty of food and clean water. I fetch bugs and slugs for them often, and bring them garden veggies. There were originally thirty of them, and they're in an 8x10 coop.
I let them outside on nice days when I can watch them.
So much for vaccines and good care. Guess chickens aren't very hardy critters.
sad.png

Does anyone have any input or info? Any experience with this matter?

Sorry long it's a long post, but I really would appreciated any help.

Botulism and toxins also have similar symptoms. The only way to know what you're dealing with is to have a necropsy done. You may want to verify if you can consume birds with Marek's (or whatever is ailing them) too.

Jody