McMurray Special Assorted Bargain vs. Estes Assorted Rainbow Layers?? Anyone have any experience wit

newchickenista

Songster
8 Years
Jan 25, 2012
Southeastern, Oklahoma
I am looking at McMurray Hatcheries Special assorted bargain which sounds pretty neat. 25 straight run chicks of many different possible breeds, just whatever they have a surplus of after all the other orders are filled.

Estes has a Rainbow Layer assortment, that is pretty straight forward. A combination of 25 white, brown and tinted egg laying pullets.

I have never ordered from a hatchery before so I have no experience with any hatchery. I have only ever bought from my local feed store, which I believe does order from Estes, so in that respect I am happy with the chicks I got from them.

Price is definitely a factor, combined with the fact that I want a variety of chickens, and I ideally would like white, brown, and tinted eggs. I also want a rooster.

The chicks from my local feed store this season are ranging from $3-$4 a chick, and they so far are not carrying a variety I am happy with.

McMurray's assortment, including shipping, comes out to about $2.60 per chick. With this I know I am just going to get what I get, and am risking 50%+ being roos.

Estes' rainbow pack, including shipping, comes to about $2.42 per chick, which is a significant savings I think, considering they are pullets. I do want mainly pullets, but I do want a few Roosters. With Estes only offering a 90% accuracy guarantee on sexing, should I expect a rooster. Also their website says it will only be 3 breeds, which is not as large of a variety as I would have liked.