medicated chick food or all organic?

lrogala

Chirping
8 Years
Apr 24, 2011
Hi there,
I've always given my chicks the "start and grow" medicated food recommended from our local feed store because they always asked me, "wouldn't you rather protect your chicks against common ailments?" However a few days ago when I got three new chicks, the farmer suggested I use an organic type of food instead. I was curious what people thought on this matter. When I use the start and grow, of course my other hens end up eating it too and I just dont use there eggs for several months while the chicks are on this medicated food. I have four hens, and three babies. What should I consider when making this decision? Any thoughts?
Thanks in advance for any responses!

Hello ,
I’m not a promoter of organic so I might be the wrong person to ask... the meds in medicated starter is ok to eat from what I’ve read here.

I wouldn’t take the chance with chicks it’s all good til they’re all sick then you have to act fast or loose them all . I just bought chicks online being fed organic home mixed grains , they had coccii so bad, I’d never seen so much blood and death , I saved a few by feeding with a dropper...

Think long and hard, the first few days /weeks are so important to their health I start with one bag medicated and then grower ...we all make our own choices but I’m not taking the chance after seeing those very sick birds( she took them back), I believe it helps them build an tolerance to coccidiosis and that’s good enough for me

Last edited:
If the medication in your starter is Amprolium, it is safe to eat the eggs if your hens do eat the starter. Amprolium is a thiamine blocker.