Mini Swamp Cooler?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Chickens-246, May 2, 2009.

1. Chickens-246

Chickens-246 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2007
    My summers are in the 100-107° range and dry. Store bought swamp coolers are way too large for my coop size, plus I only want to drop the coop temp to just below 95°, because of course above 95° is the lethal temperature for chickens.

Has anyone designed a mini swamp cooler for a coop?

2. Omran

Omran Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2008
    Bagdad KY
    Quote:I honestly don't know how itlooks like or what exactly it is, but I heard that some folks in very hot climate, install some kind of mist fan witch sprey mist water on the flock all day long, I hope someone else will be able to help you in this matter.

Omran

3. bigcats

bigcats Out Of The Brooder

Mar 22, 2009
    I'm a newbie and haven't done a summer yet here in the desert with chickens but...

My temps are the same as yours and I know many local people who have chickens. So I don't believe that above 95 is necessarily lethal, otherwise everyone's chickens would die every summer. When I ask them how they keep them cool they shrug and say "Make sure they have shade".

So I've got mine set up for shade and I did buy one of those misters to attach to my hose for the real scorchers. I plan to leave it running lightly if I'm going to be away from home and can't watch them during the summer. I got mine at Home Depot last weekend. It's just a squiggly shaped tube that attaches to the hose and stands up. It was about $10. It's for people to use as they sit in a lawn chair or something.

4. zippy11455

zippy11455 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 31, 2009
    Pack grated zucchini (excess big ones from garden) in a plastic container (yogurt or cottage cheese tubs work well) and freeze. Dump them out on a hot day and give them to the chickens. They will love pecking at them. Entertains them and helps cool them at the same time.