misting system to cool up to 30degrees lower

pinkwindsong

Songster
8 Years
Mar 18, 2011
Laurens SC
hi all,
I have been wanting to get a misting system to put at my coop for the heat of the day. I found it at K Mart,, in the garden supply/pool area.. they have the misting pipe and the extension to hook up to hose pipe. I've know they uses these for people and dogs does anyone out there use it to keep chickens cool///
its be steady in the 90's all ready its gonna be a real scorcher.. cant wait to see the summer temps.. What happened to spring?

what do people do in states that are even hotter and stay hot?

blessed be )O(
pink

We built our coop in a shady spot.

This weekend we added shade cloth to the run.

84140_img_1024.jpg

Gao;

We are having the same weather in central fl, summer heat already. It has been in the mid 90's with th heat index of 103. This is my first year with chicks so I have been reading and reading. I have shade cloth on the top and side of my run where the sun hits in the late afternoon. I have frozen water bottles laying in the run, change the water several times a day and have given them frozen veg and fruits to pick at. They really liked the frozen spinach. I have a mister but it doesn't work very well so I'll try Kmart to see if they have the misters here. Thanks to everyone for all of their info!! Deb

A mister fan is only gonna get you 30 degrees of cooling in the desert, not in SC
tongue.png
Not that it doesn't still do SOME good, but they are really far less efficient when the air is already very humid.

Lots of BYCers use them for their chickens, particularly in the SW.

Good luck, have fun,

Pat

the set I saw at K Mart was 24.00+ change and there was a spiral hose you could get too that was 9.00 ..

Im hopeing that between the shade of trees.. and roof..and adding the mister is will be cooler.. they just pant and pant.. ahhh and its only JUNE 1ST ....