Mites on grain/bucket

esme13

Crowing
9 Years
Apr 22, 2014
New York
There’s a first for everything and this is my first time seeing mites on the feed and all over the feed bucket. They look white and are inside the bucket and outside. My feed bucket is plastic with a seal on closed lid, which we’ve had for years from tractor supply.

Anyways- I don’t want these crawlies inside! I put my feed bucket outside. Any recommendations on how to kill them? I’d hate to toss the grain. They are “white little mites “. And seemed to have multiplied a lot.

There’s a first for everything and this is my first time seeing mites on the feed and all over the feed bucket. They look white and are inside the bucket and outside. My feed bucket is plastic with a seal on closed lid, which we’ve had for years from tractor supply.

Anyways- I don’t want these crawlies inside! I put my feed bucket outside. Any recommendations on how to kill them? I’d hate to toss the grain. They are “white little mites “. And seemed to have multiplied a lot.
Grain mites.
This is the one and only time I would recommend the use of DE. Toss a handful of food grade DE into the feed and mix it up.
Spray the outside of the bucket and around the floor area it sits on with Permethrin.

Hi esme13. Mites, flee's etc. can be a problem, especially in summer months. I use Food Grade DM (diatomaceous earth). I mix some in their feed, on the ground around their coops and inside the coops. DM will kill any soft bodied insect like flee's, mites, ants etc. I also mix DM in their dusting bath, so that when they are dusting themselves they also get the DM on them which protects them from getting flee's and mites on them. Most feed stores carry DM, they sell it in small packages and large bags of 25 LBS.

Even if the birds would eat them they are not harmful, They are grain mites and chickens love to eat bugs. You could put some food grade DE in with the feed.