Moulting or not?

Dwblake24

Hatching
6 Years
Dec 28, 2013
I am new to chickens, quick back story is I have 8 chickens, 5 red 3 black star. Recently as of today I have noticed that there are 3 of then that have their feathers pecked off the top of their back towards tail and also under chin on neck. They have been healthy and no problems until this. They were born in April 2013. Every once and a whole I have one that gets a little like these but not as bad nor as many. Any suggestions on what's going on and is it normal? Or do I need to do corrective measures. Thanks!

images
to BYC!

Sounds like molting to me. I doubt chickens would be pulling feathers out of the chins of other chickens. This is molting season for most adult birds. Are you seeing a lot of feathers laying around? If you are not noticing any aggression within the flock, then it is probably molting.

Great to have you aboard and enjoy BYC!

Thanks for the welcome, I actually have been coming here since I first got my chicks at a week old but never have joined. I wasn't sure about neck either with each other picking at them. I have not noticed any aggression lately but did see one peck at the area only once real quick on the back of another's back. Thanks for the help.

Last edited:
Hello :frow Welcome To BYC and Happy Holidays! How are they laying? You don't have a rooster? They are young to be doing a serious molt, but it is possible, do you see pin feathers anywhere on them?. You could have one or more feather pluckers, some chickens will eat the feathers off of chins, especially while on the roost (see it fairly often with bearded breeds, but some will do it to clean faced birds also).