Moving chicks outside in Northeast

Aocskasy

Chirping
May 17, 2023
New Fairfield, CT
This is my first year raising chickens and currently have 7 chicks that are 5 and 6 weeks old. They are all together in a brooder so I planned on moving them into the coop once the youngest ones reach 6 weeks. Two of the 5 week olds are Buff Brahmas and they seem to still have quite a bit more down left than the others. I have two main questions.
Question 1: Where I live in the Northeast the nights are still in the low to mid 40’s. Should I wait until the chicks are a few weeks older or the nights are consistently warmer to move them into the coop? They are currently in a 125 Gallon stock tank that I use for a brooder. I’m worried that if they get too much larger it will be too cramped.
Question 2: How long should they be confined to the coop before allowing them access to the run? Once they are allowed in the run, I plan to have the food and water there exclusively for both the added coop space and to avoid the extra mess. Is this a good idea or will it create confusion? Thanks in advance for any advice.

This is my first year raising chickens and currently have 7 chicks that are 5 and 6 weeks old. They are all together in a brooder so I planned on moving them into the coop once the youngest ones reach 6 weeks. Two of the 5 week olds are Buff Brahmas and they seem to still have quite a bit more down left than the others. I have two main questions.
Question 1: Where I live in the Northeast the nights are still in the low to mid 40’s. Should I wait until the chicks are a few weeks older or the nights are consistently warmer to move them into the coop? They are currently in a 125 Gallon stock tank that I use for a brooder. I’m worried that if they get too much larger it will be too cramped.
I'd be comfortable moving them out now at that age and temperature.

Question 2: How long should they be confined to the coop before allowing them access to the run?