Moving chicks outside in the winter

HTPickles

Hatching
5 Years
Jan 5, 2015
Merrimack Valley, MA
I've been raising chickens for a couple years now but wonder what I've gotten myself into this time. I couldn't help myself, no one was taking home the pullets at the local feed store and I've got a few spots open in my coop, so I got 2 RI & 2 NH reds. We live north of Boston and it's about to be the coldest part of winter. They're about 6 weeks old now, not quite fully feathered, I'm just wondering what others think is a reasonable timeline to move them out of the cage in my now stinky dining room and out into the coop with the other girls. I will separate them from the older girls via cage for a while anyway, I'm not so concerned about making the social connection, but more about when they can move out into the cold. I don't want to use a heat lamp because I'm afraid it might burn out and if they're dependent on it they will die - not to mention the cost of electricity went up 50% last month! On another note I've been pleasantly surprised how friendly these chicks are - my prior RI reds were very skittish, and I read that NH reds aren't very people friendly - but I've never had any young ones so eager to spend time with their humans before!