Multiple sudden deaths in young chickens

JenniferKrull

In the Brooder
Feb 22, 2019
I’ve been keeping pet chickens for almost three years. Last spring and early summer, I lost 3 hens within about as many months. (A fourth died, but circumstances were different). All were laying hens no more than two years old. All were very sudden. No signs of illness, and suddenly found them dead. No signs of injury. No lice/mites. I’ve even sent in two to UC Davis for necropsy, and they came back as showing no noticeable injury or disease. One had a fungus and impacted crop, and signs of being malnourished, but they couldn’t tell me what caused it.

My last three hens have been doing very well, so I got new chicks in November. Healthy feathers, staring to lay, and today I found one dead. I’m at a loss as to what could be causing it!

I give them unlimited layer feed. I have containers of oyster shells and grit for them. Each day, I scatter a bit of scratch or freeze dried meal worms. They have water out of a drip setup.

They have a large, beautiful coop that they go onto at night that is very hardy against predators. In the daytime they are in a fenced run that is several hundred square feet. (All dirt, now.)

Has anyone else experienced this sudden death? Any ideas what might be causing it?

What size is your coop? How many birds all together do you have? How much roosting space does each have? I have seen posted about dates on feed also.

Could one of the other be bullying them? Just a thought? Others may have other idea.

What size is your coop? How many birds all together do you have? How much roosting space does each have? I have seen posted about dates on feed also.

Could one of the other be bullying them? Just a thought? Others may have other idea.