My 18week old hen laid an egg a day for 7 days, then nothing...

SiggAndChicks

In the Brooder
6 Years
Sep 27, 2013
Hi
I'm new to BYC and to chickens this year. We have 14 hens, many different breeds, all about 20 weeks old now. Big oversized coop with an attached 400sq foot predator proof pen. They are all happy, healthy and just about the sweetest chickens I've met.
One of my Barred Rocks, Besse, started laying about 2 weeks ago. She layed an egg a day for 7 days, then stopped. Hasn't layed an egg for 5 days now. She's acting normal, not acting sick at all. She's actually my sweetest girl. She is spending a good deal of time in the nest box. They are fed a high quality layer crumble, veggie scraps when available, always have fresh water and free range 3-4 days a week.

I am familiar with the many reasons that hens stop laying or slow down egg production, but I assumed this applied to older hens.
Is it normal for a young hen to be irregular when they first start laying?

I also understand that stress can interfere with egg laying. We have been building a shed that requires many loud power tools and wondered if that could be stressing her. But, they were allowed to free range during this time and they were just as nosy as they usually are. They were all over us foraging all around us even with the loud tools, so I'm not convinced that it bothered them.

Any help is appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Well if she just started to lay then her laying Time will be on and off sense she's new to laying nothing to worry about in a few weeks she should have it down pact happened when my hen started to lay she laid little tiny eggs and was on and off

If you have 14 chickens how do you know which one isn't laying? I have 3 red star hens that were laying one egg each a day. Now I am only getting 2 eggs and I don't know which one isn't laying.

Last edited:
Imogene08: