My almost 5 weekers are TROOPERS!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by DawnSuiter, Dec 1, 2009.

1. DawnSuiter

DawnSuiter Chillin' With My Peeps

For the last 2 nights, my small group of 9 have decided to huddle elsewhere from the heat lamp, in fact as FAR away as they can get. Regardless of the 30 degree temperature that they are in, the prefer to tuff it out! How crazy is that?

I've got some tuff chicks!!!

2. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    That's great!

I'm in the process of taking the heat lamp away from my 5 week olds. I started by taking it away during the day. Next week, I'll take it away at night and see how they do. Then it's off to the starter coop!

3. DawnSuiter

Here they are after I shooed them over to the light to eat & drink the warm water I brought them this a.m.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

4. Season

Season New Egg

Nov 29, 2009
    California
    Hi and good morning! I'm new to BYC and this is my first post. This is my first time raising chickens and the girls will be 5 weeks old tomorrow. 2 New Hampshire Reds, 1 Plymouth Rock, 1 black sexlink and one gold sexlink. They are all living in the bathtub in a large plastic box and I've got to get them out of there! They have grown so fast and need more room. They have been off the heat lamp for a couple of days now and their coop is almost done. How do I get them out of the tub and into the coop? I'm in California with low temps are high 30's and high temps are low to mid 60's. Will they still need a heat lamp? For how long? I plan to keep them closed inside the coop for a few days before letting them out into the run. The coop is 4 X 6 (I replicated the EZ Clean Deuce Coop) and the run is 6 X 6 all enclosed.

Thanks!
    Season

5. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    DawnSuiter, your chicks are beautiful. They really are tougher than we give them credit for.