My Chickens Are Pigs!

alaskanchickens

Chirping
6 Years
Jan 21, 2014
South central Alaska
I'm new to raising chickens, this is my first winter with them. I have 13 pullets and 1 cockerel that are about 8 1/2 months old right now and am getting 12-13 eggs a day, today we got 15! I absolutely love all of them! The issue I have with them is how much feed we're going through! I go through a 50# bag of 20% layer every 6-7 days. We have had a pretty warm winter, only a couple of weeks were in the -20's. It makes sense that they would eat more during cold weather, but I think that's a little much, feed is close to $25 a bag and it's adding up quick! I'm trying to figure this all out before I get my order of 15 EE's, 16 ducks and 15 turkeys in May. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

I really have nothing to reference it to, we started with 50 straight run and only kept the 13 hens and 1 rooster, we raised up and butchered the other roosters. 50 birds, with free range in the summer were going through 2 bags a week. I thought that it would be cut down to about a quarter of what I went through before but no such luck! We can't free range now because of all the snow (funniest thing I've ever seen was a hen standing completely still on her first snow, not moving an inch!) They get a decent size mixing bowl of kitchen scraps every morning. As far as other things eating it, we did have a problem with mice in the garage, never saw their little prints around the chicken coop but we set up traps around it anyway. Never caught anything. We did eliminate the issues in the garage though! We don't have wild birds, except chickadees, during the winter and they aren't around my property because we don't have any feeders and we rarely see squirrels. There's not a lot of feed on the ground either and the hens are small, I would think with how much they eat that they would be large and gobby fat!

Can you provide information about what kind of chickens you have?