My chickens seem cold- heater?

JoeInPA

Songster
Aug 25, 2019
Western Pennsylvania
Hi everyone, we are finally getting into winter and it's getting pretty cold out there. My chickens seem to be spending more time in the coop than out. I leave the pop door open during the day so they are free to come and go as they please, and they do come outside a few times a day and peck around, but they are mostly staying inside.

This is my first year with chickens and I know everyone has said they should be fine without heat, but I can't help but get worried about them being cold.

I have to run into town today and buy a heater for their water so it doesn't freeze, but I'm wondering if I should grab anything else that may help them stay warm or entice them to come outside. I was going to buy some scratch since they've never had it.

I don't have power in my coop setup, but it's only 10 yards or so from my back porch. I can easily run an outdoor extension cord for any power. I have an GFCI outlet on the back porch to plug into.

Has anyone used one of these before?

Cozy Products CL Safe Chicken Coop Heater 200 Watts Safer Than Brooder Lamps, One Size, Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LX9K1JI/?tag=backy-20

Here is my coop setup, this picture is from a week or so ago.

IMG_20191024_162439473.jpg

Mine have been fine without heat when it was -45. They huddle together & don't really move around much, but they do fine. Even my bantams (including a silkie) did fine. A couple of my boys lost the tips of their toes to frostbite, but they seem unfazed.

Covering their run will help. I use vapour barrier or a tarp. I don't recommend using clear as it can make things way too hot for them.