My chicks are skittish!

blusuede

In the Brooder
May 2, 2015
This is my first time raising chicks. I got 9 hens from mypetchicken.com: 3 white silkies, 2 black silkies, 2 plymouth rock, 2 brahma. They are 3.5 weeks old. Anytime my hand goes into the brooder to change their feed or water, or to try to socialize them, they all freak out and huddle in a corner together! I have 2 young girls so I researched breeds and got baby chicks so they would be a friendly addition to our family. I found a link in this forum on how to socialize baby chicks but that started when they were days old. I read about the trick to mash a boiled egg and put it in the palm of your hand, as well as meal worms. (I went to town and forgot to buy eggs--and I'm out!) So I went to Tractor Supply this morning and got a bag of meal worms, put them in my palm, and left my hand in there for a few minutes. They got closer to my hand but didn't take the meal worms. So I put some meal worms in their feed so they could figure out that they're a yummy snack, then plan to go back later on to put some in my palm and see if that works better. What else do you guys recommend? Being that they're "older" I'm not sure what to do.

Thanks in advance!
Dana

Just keep doing what your doing. The older they get the more food driven they will be. My girls were the same up until about 5-6 weeks old. Now they follow me around the yard! And they are only 8 weeks now! Be patient!