My first time ever incubating Quail eggs.

Breezy Optimist

In the Brooder
Mar 31, 2016
United Kingdom
Hi :)

I'm brand new to BYC, and brand new to Quails and egg hatching of any kind. So, hi to everyone here :)

I'm from the UK.

I'm actually doing things the hard way, on purpose.

Over the years, we've had a few people appear in our local papers for having hatched Quails from eggs they bought at the local supermarket!
And my neighbour, just happens to be one of them, and after hearing how he did it, i decided to give it a go.

I'm aware it's a long shot, a very, very long shot. But how much fun would it be, to have a little Quail hatch, against all odds, that would otherwise have ended up on a dinner plate!

I work from home, so i have the time to do all the manual turning, and temp/humidity checks and adjustments, so why the hell not. :D

So, i've set up my incubator. Home made with a glass vivarium, heat lamp, water bowl and sponge, polystyrene for extra lining/insulation, temp and humidity gauges, towel for the eggs to sit on, all the basics.

I ran my incubator for 5 days, and reached average temp of 98.5 - 99F. Humidity is at 52%.

I'm aware that 'free range/free to fly' eggs are unlikely fertile, and then how long they have been stored before getting the supermarket, and how they were stored, temps etc and the odds are heavily stacked against me.

But that's what makes this so much fun for me.

My neighbour said it took him roughly 9 -10 months of taking a box of 12 eggs from the supermarket, incubating them, and getting nothing.

Then on his last try, he had one little Quail hatch from the supermarket eggs. And it is the most adorable little bird i've seen!

I'm in love with Quails! He's named it "Lucky" :D and i think that's very fitting. Lucky is now 2 months old, healthy and just adorable.

So, i'm on day 3 :p