My hens aren't doing it right!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by melissamende, Sep 30, 2016.

1. melissamende

melissamende Out Of The Brooder

Jun 12, 2016
    So this is my first time raising chickens and my girls are seriously stubborn. I have 2 barnvelders and 1 cream legbard they were around 12 weeks when i got them in July, so I'd put them at about 22 weeks now They still are not roosting at night and even when i place them on the roosting bar in the evening they rarely stay on. The legbard is the most cooperative, but the barnvelders want absolutely nothing to do with me and flip out when i try and place them on. They insist on piling in a corner. The roosting bar is pretty low and might have something to do with it. Does anyone have any suggestions or do i just keep going out at night and place them on the bar and hope they finally get a clue?

My next issue is that they aren't laying eggs yet. They have a small raised coop with an attached run and i let them out during the day in an enclosed area I got the fake eggs to put in the nesting box to give them a hint but they never are in the actual coop during the day and when they go up in the evening it's pretty dark in there so i don't even know if they see it. I know they will do it in their own time and there's not much i can do... mostly i just wanted to complain about this.