My homemade incubator **BABY PICS!!**

arlee453

Songster
12 Years
Aug 13, 2007
near Charlotte NC
Well, Miss Prissy inspired me and so I was off to Lowe's yesterday to get the goods for an incubator of my own. Let me preface this all by saying this is my first attempt at hatching eggs so I'm a complete newbie.

I found an old cooler that I think will work OK. It's in good shape, and should be easy to clean. It's one of the plastic ones. Here's the cooler from the outside:
DSCF1036.jpg

Cut a hole in the top for a viewing window. I made it big enough to stick my hand in there to turn eggs also, so as to not have to open the entire lid to minimize disruption to temp, etc. My boys were driving me NUTS yesterday at lowe's so I forgot to get the plexiglass to put over it...
DSCF1037.jpg

Here's a pic of the inside finished out:
DSCF1038.jpg

I've got it running to see how it does. I at least got the wiring right the first try - the light goes go on and off if I turn the thermostat adjustment.

A few quick questions.... I haven't cut any venting holes, but I suppose I probably should, or will opening it up to turn the eggs a few times daily be enough to give adequate breathing?

Any tips on getting the thermostat adjusted? Is there a quick way to get it where you want it, or is it just adjust and wait and see? Also, how long should I wait between adjustments?

I have two therms/hygrometers. One is the digital one in the pic, and the other is a non-digital kind. The humidity reading on the digital is about 10% points lower than the other. Any thoughts on which is more accurate?

Thanks!! If I can get the temp/humidity adjusted then I may just have to order some eggs for next week!

Susan

Last edited:
You guys. Now, I am going to have to build one of my own. You are inspiring me to try new things that I NEVER thought I would even care about.
clap.gif

Great bator, let me know how it holds temp/hum.