My silkies are not very friendly

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by wilhiteranch, Jun 15, 2011.

1. wilhiteranch

wilhiteranch Out Of The Brooder

May 22, 2011
    Rocklin
    I have 2 silkies and 2 RIR'S they are ruffly 5 weeks old. My reds are very friendly but the silkies are not. I was under the impression that silkies were friendly. I'm new at chickens.. And not sure how to coax them into being friendly [​IMG]

2. luvchicks8

luvchicks8 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2009
    new Hampshire
    My silkie hens are very sweet BUT I have NEVER had a nice silkie rooster.

3. ChickyChickyBaby

ChickyChickyBaby Barefoot Bantams

Mine are all sweethearts. Roos too. The silkies run up to me as fast as any of my other girls, mostly wanting treats [​IMG]

Try treats like strawberries, watermelon rinds, etc.

That and they can't always see me coming, so I do startle the silkies sometimes [​IMG]

4. MuskokaChick

MuskokaChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 20, 2011
    Muskoka Region Ontario
    I have 11 red stars and they all come running and crowd and jump up at me. My silkies are a bit newer, but they are starting to come running as well. My silkie roo is nasty to the redstars, but a sweetheart to his two silkie girls...he will take food from me and give it to the hens...and he waits till they have eaten and then he eats... Still they are not as friendly as the red stars...but I am chalking that up to not being used to me yet...*shrug*

Oh and the one...she is super broody right now and actually really beotchy....

5. koakritters

koakritters Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2011
    Petaluma
    my silkie roo lets 2 y/o kids carry him around [​IMG] i luv him!

6. mysweetgypsy

mysweetgypsy Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2011