Mypetchicken.com? Is it reliable?

kjpuggles3

In the Brooder
8 Years
Oct 24, 2011
HI! Im very new at this (BUT SUPER EXCITED
big_smile.png
) and I am ready to order my first batch of baby chickens! I found some great ones at mypetchicken.com and want to know if they are reliable/any good. Also, is getting the chickens sexed worth the $? The vaccination? I want all excellent layers (hens) and one rooster to help replenish the roost if a fox gets in. If i plan on getting 15-20 hens and want one rooster, should I spend the $.50 to make sue they are the right gender? Please advise thanks!

I have never ordered from them, so this a general answer.

$ for sexing- how important is it for you to not have roos? If it is very, then, yes, worth the extra $
vaccinations- you will get many answers and opinions ont his one. I do not vaccinate, but I know some who absolutely do. Do yoru research on it. If you can't afford to replace the entire flock, do not plan on eating the roos, and organic is not an issue for you, then go for it.

I have bought from them twice and Meyer once - very pleased with both hatcheries. I did get one Roo that was supposed to be a hen, but other than that no problems at all. Chicks were healthy and active. I paid the extra for the sexing because I wanted all hens and didn't want to deal with getting rid of extra Roos so it was definitely worth it to me. If you figure that 1/2 of the chicks you buy could be males, then you would have to buy twice as many chicks to get the number of females you want. The cost of their vaccination has gone up quite a bit and I don't know if it's worth it or not. I've always done it, but that's just me. I think Meyer is a bit cheaper on the vaccination and I have read on some posts that My Pet chicken actually gets their chicks from Meyer.

If I'd was be I'd get sexed. I never ordered from their but I recently bought fertile eggs waiting for them to arrive from there.