1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Need all the help I can get

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Hardys Honey, Apr 15, 2012.

1. Hardys Honey

Hardys Honey New Egg

Apr 14, 2012
    Location of coop. I have a lot of land that has trees. I was thinking of putting the coop and the 12 x 12 chain link dog run in an area that has trees. There will be shade for them and i will install a predator-proof fencing top on the run for them. Is in the "woods but close to the house" a good place for the coop?

2. j and bs hens

j and bs hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 29, 2012
    Vancouver Island
    I'm somewhat new to chickens, but it sounds good and safe. (to me anyways....) are there lots of predators where you are located? Welcome to BYC from BC!

3. Fierlin1182

Fierlin1182 powered-flight

Aug 26, 2011
    Hello and :welcome
    Any place should be okay for your coop, as long as it's predator proof, I guess. I don't know so much about the subject either. Our chicken coop is rather far away from our house too, at the bottom of the garden, and that's never been an issue. It's good you're providing some shade for them!
    Enjoy the site, and see you round. :frow

4. kcjones

kcjones Chillin' With My Peeps

May 2, 2011
    Trees would be good spot for coop i think . I've had to put up tarps and boards on run to make shade

5. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    Trees should not be a problem, especially if you are putting some type of roof on it. The shade will be a benefit.