Need help, chicken dying and suffering

meggers32

In the Brooder
11 Years
Jul 8, 2008
Mt. Vernon, WA
Hi everyone,

I have posted in the past about this poor little sick chicken that I have. I have tried everything to save her for 5 weeks now, but to no avail. She is dying, her eyes have been closed for a day now, she has solid white poo and I just came home from church and saw that she has tiny little bugs crawling all over her. She is close I am sure, but I can't just sit and watch it anymore. How can I humanely put her out of her misery? I have NEVER done this before and I am scared to death. Please give me some ideas and encouragement on how to do this? Thanks!

Best way to end it quickly is to sever the spinal cord. Some people will just snap the neck with their hands. I prefer to cut the head off with some sharp scissors or shears...it's bloodier, but I know for sure that it worked instead of wondering if I broke the neck all the way. Sorry you have to go through this...good luck.

The thing I would do if chop off her head. It's not fun, but honestly I think that would be the only thing I could get myself to do. It's quick and it's over.
Let me add I don't think I could do it myself. I would have dh do it for me.
You don't want her to suffer any longer. You have done what you could and that has to be good enough for now.

hi..i'm sorry to hear about your little chicken!..
sad.png
....if it were me, i'd chop her head off..its very quick..and painless..(if its done correctly)..its how i'd want to go..(i think)...
hmm.png
...i've thought of other ways....the pithing(where you stick a knife in its brain through the mouth)..is just to risky..what if you mess it up?....drowning...no..that must hurt.....there is also the broom stick method...ever hear of that?....i wish i could help more, sorry, Wendy

Hubby cuts the head off also, that way you KNOW it worked. Plus they never know what happend and you cant screw up !!