Need info/how to dust for mites and lice.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Roy Rooster, Oct 19, 2011.

1. Roy Rooster

Roy Rooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2010
    Tennesee Smoky Mts.
    Hi All,

I am new to chickens still getting all of this down. I have 13 BO hens and 1 BO roo, they are 24 wks old.

I am wondering when I should start dusting them for mites and lice?
    So far I have not seen any on them, they are happy and healthy.

First of all I need to ask some basic questions?
    1. How do you dust the bird for mites?
    2. What is best to use?
    3. How often does it need done?
    4. Are mites a problem in the winter?

Thanks

2. welasharon

welasharon Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2010
    North Florida
    I use seven and dust mne if I feel creepy crawlies on my arms after holding them or you can check around the base of the feathers and around the vent. Several different methods for dusting: putting bird in pillowcase with seven and fluffing it around (make sure head does not get pulled back into pillowcase), putting dust in a small mesh bag and puffing/rubbing it all over chicken getting it down into feathers, or you can just grab the chicken dust it over the back and under the wings and flip it and dust around bottom and around vent. Treat the area and redo both in 10 days. I am currently treating mine now but I live in FL so winter is not really relevent!
    sharon

3. Roy Rooster

Jun 9, 2010
    Tennesee Smoky Mts.
    Ok, thanks. I am a little nervous about dusting then because I do not want to hurt them by holding them upside down the wrong
    way. I am a first time chicken owner so all of this is new to me.

4. real_redhead

real_redhead Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 6, 2011
    Roanoke, VA