Albertxy

In the Brooder
Mar 31, 2020
Hello new to the chicken game. Long story short I rescued a bantam chicken that was wondering around the neighborhood. No one claimed it after asking all around. I ended up getting a baby New Hampshire chick she is now about 6 weeks old. She's the same size as the bantam which is maybe 1 year old or more.The bantam is laying eggs has been since I got her.

I have read that once chick is about 5-6 weeks old I can start to put her in with the other hens ( in this case just one) but the bantam hen is just a big bully always going after my new Hampshire chick pecking at her. The chick does nothing but try to run away. she doesn't defend herself or anything. My bantam hen gets mad and aggressive and won't stop cluking loud. So my question is..is it safe to leave the chick alone with the bantam even if they go at it well the bantam pretty much pea king and fighting the chick while the chick trays to run away and do nothing? Or what can I do? Im new to all this so see the poor chick get beat up is heart breaking. There's a photo of the bantam hen at this time I don't have one of my chick? I need help

Attachments

• 2020-03-31 10.02.35.jpg
    2020-03-31 10.02.35.jpg
    397.9 KB · Views: 5
Hello new to the chicken game. Long story short I rescued a bantam chicken that was wondering around the neighborhood. No one claimed it after asking all around. I ended up getting a baby New Hampshire chick she is now about 6 weeks old. She's the same size as the bantam which is maybe 1 year old or more.The bantam is laying eggs has been since I got her.