New chicken owner here....Please help!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Rfournier, Mar 10, 2014.

1. Rfournier

Rfournier Out Of The Brooder

Mar 10, 2014
    Hi everyone. What a great website! I need all the help I can get right now. I live in Livonia, MI (S.E. MI). My husband & I rescued 4 Roosters & 1 hen last night from a local park. We decided to keep then hen but I am re-homing the Rooster immediatley. We are trying to find another hen to go with the one we rescued. She is a very healthy Buff Bahma. She laid a medium brown egg last night. Right now weve got them in dog crates in our temperature controlled garage until we can get them to a new place. We are starting the coop tomoroow for the hen. I am a total rookie at this. Learning as I go. BackYard Chickens has been so informational. Can anyone PLEASE give me some pointers. We just want a cpl hens for pets & eggs. Thanks in advance for any/all advice!!!

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    You don't need a rooster in order to get eggs. You ONLY need a rooster if you want "fertile" eggs that can be hatched into chicks.

One rooster can handle 10 hens, any less than that and the hens will be severely overbred, and possibly die. A second hen still would not be enough to please one rooster, let alone 5. The roosters would also be fighting among themselves and possibly killed off.

3. Rfournier

Mar 10, 2014