New from East Texas!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by LoriAnn, Dec 26, 2012.

1. LoriAnn

LoriAnn New Egg

Dec 26, 2012
    Hi everyone! My name is Lori and I live outside of Pittsburg, TX. I am completely new to chickens. My in-laws are the ones living with the chickens right now, but my husband and I brooded them until they were ready for the coop. We all (extended family) have a kind-of family farm, so the chickens belong to all of us. We have 24 Rhode Island Reds. They are so wonderful! (although I don't have any other breeds to compare with). I spent a lot of hours with them when we were brooding them, holding them, petting them, and talking to them. Now my MIL says they come immediately when she calls. We lock them in the coop at night, and let them out into their run during the day. When we're out working in the garden or expanding the coop, we let them free range. They are so much fun!! I can't wait to get more.

I found this website through Pintrest (another website in which I love!)

I am a stay-at-home mom, to two kindergarteners and a fourth grader. I love to organize, although I'm not very good at it. I'm trying to learn how to cook. I would love to learn how to sew. And of course we are always looking for ways to expand the farm. You'd think after 15 years of marriage I would be better at some of this stuff, but I was in the Army for most of it, and didn't have time to learn.

I have a husband, 3 kids, 1 cat, 1 lizard, and 24 chickens. I have a feeling I am just at the beginning of the best part of my life!!

Lori

2. Mr MKK FARMS

Mr MKK FARMS Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Sep 27, 2012
    Welcome to BYC!!
    [​IMG]
    Glad you joined us!!!

3. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Welcome to BYC.

4. LovePolish2

LovePolish2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 18, 2012
    Missouri
    Welcome from Missouri! :)

5. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland