New from Maui

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by PJ22, Nov 16, 2011.

1. PJ22

PJ22 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 16, 2011
    Hi, everyone. I was so pleased to find a site that answered questions about chicken's trilling. I am new to chickens. All my chickens (and there are at least 25) are feral. They just showed up one day. Nine of them...adolescents. I was charmed by them and started feeding them and they have grown up and had babies (tooo cute for words...and that peeping...who could ever resist it??) Someone culled the original nine....there were five roosters among them (they are considered a nuisance by some people). Two of the remaining three girls had babies. And now those babies are grown or almost grown. From all of these, I have found exactly ONE egg...lying under a tree. All these chickens live in the trees at night. I finally stopped feeding them (mostly) because now they terrorize the cats (can you imagine??) Even the dog is a bit intimidated. They became a hassle around feeding time for the horses. I have two horses. My main concern now is my little guy (I think he's a guy because is comb is getting pronounced). I had seen him trailing along behind his brood mates with a bit of a limp. I worried about him. Then one day I found him in the barn, huddled up against the tack room door. I took him inside, fed him, kept him warm, took him to the vet (it's not easy to find a vet that will see a chicken...anybody else have that problem?) He said he was malnourished and had been wounded but that he should recover if I fed him and kept him away from the bullies. Well, that was a month ago. And he has gotten strong but he is still much smaller than his broodmates ( is that what you call them?). So I have him outside in a cage I made (4 feet by 4 feet) so he can see his others of his kind and yet be protected from the bullies. At night I bring him in the house and he has the guest bedroom (how many of you think I am nuts??) in which to stay warm and