New Garden Project

Chickweed9

In the Brooder
Apr 7, 2020
We did math and science outside today! This is my first attempt at raised bed vegetable gardening. I lightly broke up the ground in the beds and lined the bottom with cardboard. I used plastic sheeting to line the wood to try and give it a little extra life. My dirt is a combo of top soil, cow manure compost and peat moss. I went with the square foot gardening approach. I want to plant bush beans in the empty squares.
QUESTION:
Do you let your chickens free range your gardens or do I need to put up something around these when I let my birds out to free range the backyard?
View attachment 2094117
49722863-7E01-4AA8-935F-D39DC4C304C9.jpeg
73996335-EEA7-4BC7-9112-4043EA8F1179.jpeg
View attachment 2094117
49722863-7E01-4AA8-935F-D39DC4C304C9.jpeg
73996335-EEA7-4BC7-9112-4043EA8F1179.jpeg

Did you punch some holes in that plastic sheeting? Ideally you wouldn't use anything like that in a raised bed as it interferes with drainage and keeps beneficial critters like earthworms out. I have hardware cloth as my "liner" just to keep voles out.

Surrounding the beds with chicken wire will keep them out, otherwise they will very much enjoy removing your plants for you and rolling around in the dirt.

Did you punch some holes in that plastic sheeting? Ideally you wouldn't use anything like that in a raised bed as it interferes with drainage and keeps beneficial critters like earthworms out. I have hardware cloth as my "liner" just to keep voles out.

Surrounding the beds with chicken wire will keep them out, otherwise they will very much enjoy removing your plants for you and rolling around in the dirt.

The plastic is only between the soil and the wood frames. I lined the bottom with cardboard after lightly tilling the soil.

Fresh dirt + chickens = dust bath.