1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

new member question

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by girlonthefarm, Jul 30, 2011.

1. girlonthefarm

girlonthefarm Out Of The Brooder

Jul 30, 2011
    Hi! I am new to chickens, and have never joined a forum before so I hope I am doing this right. I have been 'lurking' trying to get educated and find answers to my questions. Most of the time I find what I needed to know, but decided to join so I can ask a few more specific questions. We bought 12 chicks from the local feed store this spring. 6 BR's and 6 Amerecanas (which after reading posts I believe are really EE's). When we bought them they were between 1 - 2 weeks. We are approaching 20 weeks on Aug 1st. 3 of the rocks have well developed red face, comb and wattle, the other 3 are progressing. For the last 3 days one of the rocks has sat on the plastic egg in the nest and made a lot of racket. Is this normal behavior when approaching the egg laying time? Does this mean she will be broody? Maybe hormones? Do I need to worry she is egg bound? the noise is not constant and she seems comfortable. The other question I have is about the EE's. I have not found any reference to how old they will be before they will lay eggs? Is there some physical change as in the BR's? We are going out of town for a couple of days and hope not to miss THE event. Thanks for your help.

2. Barred Babies

Barred Babies Red Roof Farms

Sep 20, 2009
    Pride, La.
    [​IMG] & [​IMG] from Louisiana! It's normal.. They are getting ready to lay that's for sure and it's great they found the nest boxes right away!! [​IMG]

3. Nicole01

Nicole01 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 28, 2011
    MN