New Peking Pet Duck Owner - please help

lauriebeth76

Hatching
5 Years
Dec 9, 2014
I purchased 2 Peking ducks (male and female) Easter of 2014 and since I have no experience with fowl, I'm hoping someone here can help me. The ducks are free to roam my fenced in yard but since I let them roam free as adults they won't even come near any humans, they are afraid.. I don't know why cause they stayed indoors as babies and I let them swim in my bathtub everyday so I did interact with them. My question is, we are starting to enter into winter and I can't get my ducks to go into any shelter. I purchased a very large expensive doghouse and they won't even go near it. I also have a 8x10 shed and they also won't go near it. I don't know what to do, are these ducks gonna freeze outside and how do I get them to go into a shelter? Please help I love these 2 ducks (even though I can't get near them without them running away) and I'm really upset..

Welcome to BYC
frow.gif
Some friends of mine who own ducks mentioned that sometimes some of their ducks won't go in at night and were o.k. outside, but I'll ask @Amiga and @Miss Lydia to give you their opinions.

Welcome to BYC! Glad you decided to join our flock. I'm a chicken person and don't know much about ducks (although I've had a few), but definitely post on our duck section at https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/42/ducks, and take advantage of our duck experts there. Please feel free to ask any other questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Good luck in sheltering your ducks.