New to Backyard Chickens

brodalick

Hatching
7 Years
Feb 18, 2012
I am a newbie to the forum and also when it comes to raising chickens. Two months ago I acquired 6 Rhode Island red hens and 1 unknown variety rooster. I have them in an 8 x 8 coop with an 8 x 21 run. I kept them contained to the coop and run for 3 weeks before I turned them out. They stayed out for 5 minutes and ran back in. I have been turning them out about 3-4 times a week and now after 1 month, they will stay out an hour before returning. Now my concern is this. NO EGGS. All the hens were laying when I received them. I know I have disrupted their lifestyle but I figured after 2 months I would have seen at least 1 egg. I live in South Eastern North Carolina and we are having 10-11 hours of daylight now. Should I be worried or just let them roam, be happy and play the waiting game?

Last edited:
If they are happy and healthy with no parasites or molting you must try to out wait the chicken!
pop.gif

Here is the huge problem I have. These chickens have been free roaming their entire lives. When they are out of their enclosed environment they are fairly calm and will get reasonably close to you. Inside the coop or the run, they do just that, RUN. You can't get close enough to them to check them. Are the parasites visible from a distance and I am not really sure what molting is.

Wait until dark, you can then simply go in and pick them up.....no problem. try not to shine a bright light on them or that will stir them up. But once you have picked them up you can use a flashlight to examine them. Look under wings and around vent for "bugs".

welcome-byc.gif