New to BYC

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by greasy, Feb 16, 2014.

1. greasy

greasy Out Of The Brooder

Feb 16, 2014
    Worcester , ma
    Hello ! i'm new to BYC so i'm introducing myself. I'm Pete, "greasy" . I've been lurking here for a while and figured I should join. I'm new to chickens, 6 months. It's a good story.
    I finally decided to take the plunge and get some chickens, along with my wife's support, albeit , fair weather :). She has no interest in poop, going out in the bad weather to the coop, or dealing with dispatching a hen or Roo if need be. I got 11 chicks, not sexed, from a local farmer. Raised them, and at 5 months of age, there was lots of crowing and fighting going on, ugh ! 9 of my 11 chicks were Roos ! Needless to say, I now have a freezer full of Roos. The 2 that are left are RI reds, or maybe production reds, I'm not really sure. Either way, they give me 5-6 eggs a week now, without any artificial light, those ladies are awesome !! They are Lady Gaga and Bunny.
    In December, I bought 15 gold sex links, and they were shipped with 7 more Roos ! I really hate taking the Roos to the freezer, but I'm not even supposed to have chickens where I live. Luckily I happen to have a lot of land, bordered with woods and awesome neighbors.
    The sex links get along with the 2 mature hens great ! the ladies are showing the kids the ropes. it's really great to watch. Every time I get an egg, it's very exciting and I can't wait until the Gsl's start producing !
    I learned a ton here, way more than in the books. There's lots of practical, real life , tried and tested knowledge here and I thank you all for it !

Pete

1 person likes this.
  2. Pyxis

Pyxis Hatchaholic Extrordinaire Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    [​IMG]

Sounds like you have some lovely ladies :)

3. benjhm11

benjhm11 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 11, 2014
    Macon, Ga