New to chickens, and need help sexing barred rocks.

christinesrocks

Hatching
6 Years
Aug 22, 2013
Danville, PA
I need some help here, I have 6 total, all hatched on April 15th, do I have 2-3 roos, or do I just not know enough about chickens. I am new to this, but three have bigger redder combs, and wattles.

Is the one on the left a roo?

2 hens?

hen?

2 hens?

a roo?

a roo?

a hen?

A rooster...

Yours all look like hens to me!
How did you manage that?!
D.gif
Tell me your secret please!

The ones with the redder/bigger waddles and combs will probably lay eggs first if they're not already :)
(Sorry I had to build up the suspense!)​

I see a bunch of pretty hens. Your girls are hitting the teenage phase, and they develop at different rates is all. Eventually, they'll all have combs like the largest ones, it's a sign of sexual maturity and fertility. Those girls with the larger combs are closer to laying, I'd say still a few weeks though.

Thanks for the replies! We are really novices, we ordered 3 more hens a few days ago, thinking we had a couple of roosters. I will be up to my armpits in eggs in a few months...I'll have plenty to share with friends and family
ya.gif

Pullets, and some nice looking ones.

We bought 4 BR chicks once that were supposed to be sexed pullets. A couple of weeks in, we noticed that one had a brighter contrast than the others. By 5-6 weeks, we started calling him "Henry" because it was visible that he was a "he".

On a sad note, Henry was killed by a group of raccoons just a week and a half ago. We're all still bummed about it. Henry took the blue ribbon in his category and the NC State Fair last year.

So sorry for your loss of Henry. I am always afraid of some varmit getting into the chicken coup. A co-worker of my spouse had his entire flock killed by a weasel.