New to Ducks! Help!

ottbjumper06

Songster
6 Years
Apr 26, 2013
Manly, Iowa
I have always wanted ducks and I have very recently moved out to my own farm so I decided it's time to get a few! I'll be getting 2 ducklings this weekend along with 8 chicks. I'm completely new to ducks so I'm hoping someone can answer my questions!
I bought medicated chick starter (which I know I can't feed medicated to my ducklings) for my chicks, what do I get for my ducks? My local TSC has a lot of options so I'm almost sure they would have anything anyone suggests!
What should I use for feeders and waters? These are my only ducks I'm planning on having so something homemade would be great!
Do they need grit like chicks?
I'm getting Rouens, is there anything I should know about this particular breed?
When can I introduce them to water?
Will they get along with my chickens ok? They will be housed with them 24/7.
I'm also seeing I may need to get plain niacin tablets... where can I get these?

I realize that this is a lot of questions but any and all answers help! Also feel free to add anything else I may have forgotten about. I see one particular book mentioned here a lot for ducks so I think I will get that but in the meantime this will help me a lot, thanks!

ab4a3b6ffa9c5224e8d94f1bf069309e835bf44ada39a3ee5e6b4b0d3255bfef95601890afd80709da39a3ee5e6b4b0d3255bfef95601890afd80709a4b3225a1483568630b9.png

1. I would go with FlockRaiser. It's readily available at my local TSC.
2. I've always just used store bought feeders and waterers so I'll let someone else answer this one.
3. Yes they'll need grit
4. Not that I'm aware of.
5. I usually don't let them swim until they are around 5 weeks. Many people let them swim much earlier than that. Just make sure you're always there when they are swimming and they can get warm when done.
6. Most likely. If you end up with a drake that tries to breed your hens you will have to separate them.
7. I buy mine at either Walmart, Walgreens, or GNC.