New to ducks!

awkwardkale

Songster
Apr 12, 2023
East TN
Hello! Just wanted to introduce myself and my ducks on this forum! I already posted on the introduction forum, but hopefully it’s ok to say hi over here as well? I’m a young adult with a passion for animals.

I have four Pekin ducks that are around seven weeks old. I’m brand new to duck keeping but I absolutely love them. They’re all so silly and have great personalities. They are a bit shy to me, even though I spent a ton of time with them when they were little (and still do). They’re very close to one another and have to make decisions as a group. They go get water and food and swim together. They will still follow me around, though. They like to try and untie my shoelaces when I sit outside reading haha. They are very curious and always want to know what’s going on

My mom and I had been thinking about getting ducks since the fall. We had chickens at our old house and were missing our backyard poultry. We both care for them, but I’m the one doing the majority of the care since my schedule is more flexible than hers. So I’m in charge of cleaning and all that! I’m trying to learn as much as possible. We researched them long before we got them, but there’s still a lot I don’t know.

Everythings good so far, they’re healthy and happy, and almost fully feathered. They can get around well, I don’t see any signs of niacin deficiency or angel wing. I’ve still got a lot to learn about duck keeping. The Pekins grew so fast, it was a bit of a race against time getting the duck house all set up. We severely underestimated how fast they were going to grow. It was honestly amazing to see such a little creature grow so fast. I knew they grew fast, but nothing could’ve prepared me for that haha. I blinked and the babies were six pound giants! The run and house got finished in more than enough time, though.