New to fourm and thinking about raising some chickens.

GSPx2

Songster
9 Years
Aug 4, 2013
New Jersey
Hello everyone! My name is Tim and I live in NJ. Since I have bought my house I have been saying I want to have chickens. It's been 6 years now and up until a week ago its just been something I have said I wanted, now I want to make it happen.

Last week my wife and I took our son to the county fair. There was a fake little chicken coop that the kids could collect the fake eggs from and put them in a basket or egg carton. My son loved it and kept playing with it. So this got me thinking that this is something he and I can enjoy together.

I am completely new to this. I have nothing at this time and I will be waiting to purchase birds till everything is in place and ready for birds.

Questions I have are......

1. I have a good size space, but how far will the birds typically wonder from their coop when allowed to? I have a main road in from of my house and I wouldn't want any car vs chicken incidents. At this time I do not have a fence.

2. What is a good breed for a starter. Keep in mind they will be around kids and the birds will be just for eggs.

3. I would only want about 2 or 3 chickens. Will that be ok or are more recommended.

Thank you and I'm sure I will have many more questions to come.

welcome-byc.gif

Greetings from Kansas, GSPx2, and
welcome-byc.gif
! Great to have you aboard! I'll address your questions...

1. I have a good size space, but how far will the birds typically wonder from their coop when allowed to? I have a main road in from of my house and I wouldn't want any car vs chicken incidents. At this time I do not have a fence.

With mine the range depends on what is "there." The coop is about 125 yards from the road but they don't go that far - maybe because there is nothing up there they want. But if there are bugs and fields there that they would want to explore, they might. Mine typically go no more than 50 yards from home.