New to Raising Ducks

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Hjax81, Jan 15, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Hjax81

Hjax81 Chirping

Jan 14, 2019
    Glenville, PA
    Good Morning all! My name is Heidi and I am new to raising ducks. My husband and I just recently brought home a small flock of Black Swedish home. When we first moved in back in August of 2018 and after we got settled in, I decided to start researching how to raise ducks. After years of living in a location where we couldn't have anything, not even a garden, I couldn't wait to finally be able to have my very own duckies. At first I was in love with Khaki Campbell's so I ran out and go two from someone selling them off craigslist. They turned out to both be males. No wonder I wasn't getting any eggs, lol! Then my husband was perusing craigslist once again and found a lonely male Pekin that needed a new home, his mate had died and the lady didn't want him anymore, so of course we rescued him. So that brings me to 3 male ducks and still no layers. After a few weeks of relentless searching we came across a small flock of Black Swedes; 6 females and 1 male. Finally!! So we checked them out and brought them home. 4 of the females will be 1 year old this spring and the male and other 2 females will be 2 years this spring. We are so excited to finally have our own little flock and can't wait to see what adventures await us.
    My favorite aspect of raising ducks is their funny antics and their beautiful colors and to just watch them; and of course all of the free eggs we will have!
    Some of our other hobbies are pretty much anything outdoors like hiking, hunting and fishing; and of course I love doing different crafts even though I have several unfinished projects laying about. I also love photography, especially nature photography!