Newbie here - brooder size for 15 chicks?

krepanie

In the Brooder
Feb 18, 2015
I've been lurking and reading on here for a while, but this is my first post. :)

We are getting 15 day old chicks soon and I planned on putting the brooder together in the next couple of days. I originally planned on a 50 gallon rubbermaid tub for them, but I think that may be too small for 15 chicks. I'd prefer to keep them together. I really like the plans for Amferro103's brooder on this site, but again am concerned it could end up being too small before we are ready to move them outside.

I've seen suggestions that say to start with .5-1 sq ft per chick initially, moving up to 1.5-2 sq ft per chick after 4 weeks. Is it okay to just start off with the size they'll need the entire time they are in the brooder?

I would like the brooder to live in our laundry room, which is a pretty good size. I assumed that the chicks would be in there for 4-8 weeks, probably more like 6-8 weeks. Hubs will be building the coop while they are brooding, so we don't have another enclosed place for them until that is complete.

Any feedback or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advanced!

I should add that 4 of the 15 are bantams, so I am not sure if that changes the amount of space needed in the brooder.